Posted by: Ignorethebucklesonmyjacket | November 14, 2010

Pressured to be Funny


My work environment is high stress, but I try to keep things as light as possible.

I kind of feel like it is my responsibility.

It has been fueled by a new hire in the office seeing me perform on stage.

Now it is official.

I am the office “funny guy”

Not the annoying “joke teller” guy…

I am NOT the “two guys went into a bar…” guy.

My style of  “funny” has always been telling stories of things that happen and odd things that I observe, by telling them to people I meet and even writing about them in former on-line blog.

Because the office is so stressful, people want to laugh…so they are now coming to me.

They think that I’ll make them laugh about something.

It is hard to be “on” all the time though…especially when I have the largest work load in the office.

I have to amuse myself…

It is eerily similar to what I have to do with my sex life…

 

 

Responses

  1. Your wife approaches your sex life with the expectation that you’re going to make her laugh?


Leave a Reply

Categories

