Posted by: Ignorethebucklesonmyjacket | July 29, 2012

Twelve Inches is Fine with Me


I’ve never been big on yard work.

If I had it my way, I would pave the yard and paint it green.  I was probably made to live in a condo…

If they made condos without other condos attached…or other people living in them.

They do not…so I have to cut the grass.  If I didn’t, the city of Virginia Beach would issue a citation after the grass reaches 12″ in height.

Image

 

I have avoided their wrath for the 18 years I’ve been here, but I dread the task weekly from April to November.

It was after this photo…

Image

…that I realized something.

I have someone that can perform this task for me.

All I have to do is do some trimming and ensure safety is taken care of while he is mowing…and perform the Quality Control of his work.

I’ve decided that, as long as it stays below 12″ in height…I’m good.

Responses

  1. Is it fair game for us to make our daughter cut the grass for us? I mean, when she’s tall enough to reach the handle of course.

  2. They’re making very realistic turf these days…

    • Don’t need it real…just so it doesn’t grow.

      • Exactly my point. It only looks real. And no cutting. The neighbors may suspect you’re a witch and burn you at the stake, though, but it’s worth it.

      • If the disappearing neighborhood children weren’t already enough to get me into trouble…

  3. Look at your oldest boy! When did he get so grown up??? Yep, he’s definitely qualified to mow the lawn now!

  4. Child labor laws don’t apply to yard work. hehehe

  5. Get Beach Front property…

  6. One of the benefits of children. Time it out right, and you’ll be covered for at least 15 years.

  7. Speaking as a female… I did plenty of yardwork growing up. My dad told us often that he and my mom only had kids so they wouldn’t have to cut grass or rake leaves or anything ever again. Just have the big one train the little one before he leaves for college, and you’re covered. At least until you end up in a sanatorium/nursing home. You won’t have to cut the grass at those places either, so you still win!

    Why do you look so unhappy in the picture? I assume it’s because you’re going to be running… I’d be unhappy, too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

